Florida increases minimum wage.
On September 30, 2022, the minimum wage will increase to $11.00 per hour. This comes after Florida’s minimum wage increased to $10.00 per hour on September 30, 2021 ($6.98 for tipped employees). The state minimum wage will continue to increase $1 per year thereafter until it reaches $15.00 per hour ($11.98 for tipped employees). After which, it will be adjusted annually based on inflation.
Section 448.109, Florida Statutes, requires employers who pay their employees the Florida minimum wage to post a minimum wage notice in a visible and accessible place in each establishment where these employees work. In addition to the Florida minimum wage notice,
federal law requires employers to post a notice of the federal minimum wage. Florida’s minimum wage notice is available for downloading in English, Spanish, and Creole from the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity’s website at: http://www.floridajobs.org.
Case Law Alerts, 1st Quarter, April 2022 is prepared by Marshall Dennehey Warner Coleman & Goggin to provide information on recent developments of interest to our readers. This publication is not intended to provide legal advice for a specific situation or to create an attorney-client relationship. Copyright © 2022 Marshall Dennehey Warner Coleman & Goggin, all rights reserved. This article may not be reprinted without the express written permission of our firm.