John Hare Appointed to Civil Procedural Rules Committee of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court

John J. Hare, Chair of the Appellate Advocacy and Post-Trial Practice Group at Marshall Dennehey Warner Coleman & Goggin, has been appointed to the Pennsylvania Supreme Court's Civil Procedural Rules Committee. He was appointed by Chief Justice Thomas G. Saylor and will serve a three-year term.

The Civil Procedural Rules Committee is the Pennsylvania Supreme Court's oldest rules committee, consisting of 15 judges and lawyers who are responsible for proposing and reviewing changes to the rules governing civil litigation in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

Mr. Hare has litigated more than 300 appeals in state and federal appellate courts. His diverse practice includes cases involving professional malpractice, civil rights claims, product liability, toxic torts, construction accidents, employment claims and premises liability. In addition to litigating cases in the appellate courts, he is actively engaged in developing and implementing trial and appellate strategy, prosecuting and defending pre-trial, trial and post-trial motions, and acting as appellate counsel on trial teams in high-exposure cases.

Mr. Hare co-authored the book, Keystone of Justice: The Pennsylvania Superior Court, 1895-1995, which is one of the nation's leading studies of a state appellate court. He is additionally an active member of the Pennsylvania and Philadelphia Bar Associations, and he has served on the Board of Governors for the Bar Association for the Third Federal Circuit. Mr. Hare also co-chairs the Amicus Curiae Committee of the Pennsylvania Defense Institute, and he submits amicus briefs to appellate courts on behalf of various organizations.

Rated AV-Preeminent™ by Martindale-Hubbell, he has been named a Pennsylvania Super Lawyer annually since 2008. A graduate of Indiana University of Pennsylvania, he holds a J.D. from Duquesne University School of Law and an M.A. from the University of California, Berkeley. He has additionally completed coursework toward his Ph.D. at Princeton University.