Jason Banonis Receives 2020 “Defense Attorney of the Year” Award from the Pennsylvania Defense Institute

Jason Banonis, shareholder and managing attorney of Marshall Dennehey’s Allentown, PA office, is the recipient of the 2020 “Defense Attorney of the Year,” award from the Pennsylvania Defense Institute (PDI). Mr. Banonis received the award for his statewide efforts with the plaintiff’s bar and the state legislature to reopen Pennsylvania Courts and law offices during the ongoing Covid-19 shutdown. The PDI is comprised of more than 400 lawyers, insurance company executives, self-insurers, and independent adjusters from across the state who are focused on promoting the interests of the civil litigation defense bar.

On top of the award recognition, Mr. Banonis was recently appointed by Pennsylvania Bar Association President David E. Schwager to a 29-person task force to enable continuation of the legal system during emergencies similar to the Covid-19 pandemic. As one of the civil defense bar representatives, Mr. Banonis will assist the panel in developing recommendations with regard to processes and technology that will enable the legal system to continue operations under crisis conditions. 

As Allentown office managing attorney, Mr. Banonis supervises all of the office’s attorneys handling casualty litigation. With over 20 years of experience, he has handled the defense of hundreds of premises liability, retail and motor vehicle matters, trying several cases to verdict. He has also represented many Fortune 500 companies and a considerable number of service providers in sports and entertainment, retail, corrections, healthcare, facilities, restaurant and bar industries. 

He also regularly serves as a court-appointed arbitrator in the Court of Common Pleas of Lehigh County, Court of Common Pleas of Northampton County and the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania.

Mr. Banonis is a graduate of Bucknell University and Widener University School of Law. He is admitted to practice in Pennsylvania and New Jersey.